Buckingham Palace - with flower beds and the Queen Victoria Memorial in the foreground


Published: 6 February 2019


Share this article

We are delighted to congratulate the following alumni and members of the University recognised in the 2019 New Year Honours list.*

See also the main University website for details of honoured Oxford academics and supporters of the University (listed here in italics).

Knight Commander of the Bath (K.C.B.)

Sir Richard Heaton 1984 Worcester For public service

Knight Commander of St. Michael & St. George (K.C.M.G.)

Sir Michael Palin 1962 Brasenose For services to travel, culture and geography

Dame Commander Order of the British Empire (D.B.E.)

Dame Madeleine Atkins 1974 LMH Lately Chief Executive, Higher Education Funding Council for England. For services to Higher Education

Knight Bachelor

Sir Ian Blatchford 1983 Mansfield For services to Cultural Education
Sir Jeremy Farrar 1993 New College For services to Global Health
Professor Sir Alex Halliday   Associate Lately Professor of Geochemistry, University of Oxford. For services to Science and Innovation
The Hon Sir James Leigh-Pemberton 1975 Christ Church Chairman, UK Financial Investments. For services to Financial Services, British Industry and Government
Sir Philip Pullman 1965 Exeter For services to Literature
The Rt Hon Sir John Redwood 1968 Magdalen For political and public service

Companion of the Order of the Bath (C.B.)

Mrs Gillian Aitken 1979 St Hugh's For services to Taxpayers and Social Mobility
Mrs Patricia Hayes 1984 Pembroke For services to Transport
Dr James Richardson 1985 Balliol For public service

Companion of the Order of St. Michael and St. George (C.M.G.)

Mr James Tucker 1986 LMH For services to national security

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)

Professor Robert Bartlett 1974 St John's For services to History
Professor John Birney 1992 Balliol For services to Computational Genomics and Leadership across the Life Sciences
Professor Frederick Hobbs   HMC For services to Medical Research
Professor Geoffrey Maitland 1965 St Catherine's For services to Chemical Engineering
Professor John McCrudden 1980 Lincoln For services to Human Rights Law
Mr Simon McKinnon 1977 Mansfield For public service
Ms Alison Park 1989 Nuffield For public service
Mrs Bridget Rosewell 1970 St Hugh's For services to the Economy
Mr Mustafa Suleyman 2002 Mansfield For services to the UK Technology Industry
Mr John Taylor 1970 Balliol For services to the Economy

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)

Professor Jane Armitage   Associate For services to Medical Research
Mr Thomas Blomfield 2003 Trinity For services to Improving Competition and Financial Inclusion in the Banking Sector
Mr Christopher Brown 1973 St Peter's For services to Higher Education
Mr James Cooper 1969 Christ Church For voluntary political service in the West Midlands
Professor Brian Dolan 1997 New College Visiting Professor of Nursing, Oxford Institute for Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health Research. For services to Nursing and Emergency Care.
Dr Joanna Dunkley 2002 Magdalen For services to science
Dr Edmund Gibbons 1974 Queen's For services to Bermuda
Professor Hugh Griffiths 1975 Keble For services to Engineering
Professor Sarah Hainsworth   Associate For services to Engineering and Forensic Science
Mr Tim Harford 1992 Brasenose Economist and Journalist. For services to Improving Economic Understanding
Dr Jagbir Jhutti-Johal   Associate For services to Higher Education, Faith Communities and the Voluntary Sector
Dr Simon Kay 1970 Christ Church For services to Complex Reconstructive Hand Surgery including Hand Transplantation
Mr Christopher Kingsley 1985 Wadham For services to the Economy
Ms Lucy Lake 1991 Wadham For services to Young People in Africa
Professor Helen Margetts   Associate Professor of Society and the Internet and lately Director, Oxford Internet Institute. For services to Social and Political Science
Professor Anna Meredith 1983 Magdalen For services to Animal Welfare and the Veterinary Profession
Mr Samuel Mullins 1972 Pembroke For services to the London Transport Museum
Mr Richard Oliver 1981 St Edmund Hall For services to the British community and British business in the United Arab Emirates
Professor Lynette Ryals 1978 St Hugh's For services to Higher Education
Dr Kate Tiller   Associate For services to local history

Member of the Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)

Mr Peter Acheson 1957 Brasenose For services to the Voluntary and Community Sector
Mr Jonathan Atack 1983 Pembroke For services to education and the British community in the Netherlands
Mr John Bennett 1963 Christ Church For services to the City of London and Education
Mr Theodore Blackwell 1991 Wadham For services to Local Government Digital Transformation
Dr Stephen Darlington 1971 Christ Church For services to Music
Ms Lucinda Rumsey   Associate Senior Tutor, Mansfield College, University of Oxford. For services to Widening Participation in Higher Education
Dr Nigel Sykes 1974 Oriel Lately Medical Director, St Christopher’s Hospice, London. For services to Palliative Care

Helen Townend

1995 Harris Manchester For her contribution to Service widows and widowers

Medallist of the Order of the British Empire (B.E.M)

Ms Joy Hibbins 1981 St Edmund Hall For services to vulnerable people


* This list is correct as of 6 February 2019 according to checks against University records. If you notice any inaccuracies or omissions, please contact us -