Buckingham Palace - with flower beds and the Queen Victoria Memorial in the foreground


Published: 3 July 2024


Share this article

We are delighted to congratulate the following members of the University recognised in the 2024 King's Birthday Honours list.*

Dame Commander Order of the Bath (D.C.B.)

Dame Antonia Romeo



For Public Service

Dame Commander Order of the British Empire (D.B.E.)

Dame Ffion Hague

Jesus College


For Public Service and services to Business

Dame Hannah Rothschild St Hilda's 1981 For services to Philanthropy in the Arts, Culture and Charity Sectors
Professor Baroness Alison Wolf Somerville 1967 For services to Education

Knight Bachelor

Sir Niall Ferguson Magdalen 1982

Historian and Author. For services to Literature

Sir Richard Greenhalgh Associate - For services to Education
Professor Sir Stan Whittingham New College 1960 For services to Chemistry

Companion of the Order of the Bath (C.B.)

Mr Simon McKinnon Mansfield 1977 For services to Digital Technology
Ms Chloe Squires Pembroke 1996 For Public Service

Companion of the Order of St. Michael and St. George (C.M.G.)

Professor Melita Gordon Green Templeton 1990

For services to Global Health 

Ms Blaise Metreweli Associate -

For services to British Foreign Policy

Mr Antony Phillipson Keble 1989

For British Foreign Policy and International Trade and Investment

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)

Ms Monica Ali Wadham 1986

Writer. For services to Literature

Mr Charles Byrne Associate


For services to Veterans

Mr Graham Chipchase Oriel 1981 For services to Engineering and Design
Mr Richard Fuller University 1981 For Political and Public Service
Mr Jeremy Green Christ Church 1991 For services to Business, Philanthropy and Support to The King's Trust
Lady Suzanne Heywood Somerville 1987 For services to Business Leadership
Professor Christine Holt Associate - For services to Neuroscience
Mr Armando Iannucci University 1982 For services to Film and Television
Dr Patrick Maxwell Corpus Christi 1980 For services to Medical Research
Mr Marc Owen Keble 1991 For Public Service
Mr Dipesh Shah Associate - For services to Transport
Mrs Barbara Slater St John's 1982 For services to Sports Broadcasting
Dr Alexander Sturgis University 1982 For services to Culture
Mr Matthew Westerman Balliol 1983 For services to Museums and to Cultural Heritage

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)

Dr Rachel Baggaley LMH 1978 For services to people living with HIV and to Global Health
Ms Helen Barnes St Catherine's 1996 For services to International Development
Mrs Philippa Bonay Associate


For Public and Charitable Services
Mr Richard Charkin Green Templeton 1986 For services to Publishing and Literature
Miss Laura Citron Corpus Christi 2001 For services to the London Economy
Ms Emma Dagnes Associate


For services to Heritage
Ms Georgia Gould Associate


For services to Local Government

Mr James Handscombe Merton 1992

For services to Education

Father Julian Large Mansfield 1987

For services to Faith and Integration

Miss Rosh Mahtani New College 2008

For services to Jewellery Design and to Philanthropy

Mr Giles Montagnon Exeter 1996

For services to British Foreign Policy

Professor Matthew Rosseinsky St John's 1983

For services to Materials Chemistry Research and Innovation

Ms Ruth Sloan Balliol 1998 For services to Peace and Reconciliation in Northern Ireland
Miss Phillida Strachan Somerville 2013

For services to International Development

Professor Rajesh Thakker Somerville


For Medical Science and to People with Hereditary and Rare Disorders

Mrs Rachael Wardell St Peter's 1986

For services to Children's Social Care

Mr Christopher White Corpus Christi 1977

For services to Local Government

Ms Fleur Willson Merton 2003

For services to British Nationals Overseas and Crisis Management

Member of the Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)

Ms Susie Dent Somerville 1983

For services to Literature and Language

Miss Emma Hindley Magdalen 2009

For Online Safety

Dr Samina Khan St Hilda's 1992

For services to Higher Education

Mr John Murray Magdalen 1960

For services to Philanthropy and Volunteering in the Arts and Culture Sectors

Mrs Susan Robson Associate


For services to Gender Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Engineering and Energy

Dr Amar Shah St Peter's 1997

For services to Healthcare Improvement

Ms Anna Thomas St Peter's 1990

For services to Research on the Future of Work

Ms Maria White LMH 1984

For services to Internet Regulation


Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (B.E.M.)

Mrs Katie Donegan Wadham 2002

For services to Financial Education

The Revd Stewart Lisk Regent's Park 1981 For services to Community Cohesion and to Charity


*This list is correct as of 3 July 2024 according to checks against University records. If you notice any inaccuracies or omissions, please contact us.